Henley, Raybon Join TEC Board

August 22, 2019

The 62 voting delegates in attendance at the 79th TEC Annual Meeting, held Aug. 4–7 in Austin, elected Greg Henley, CEO of Lyntegar Electric Cooperative, representing Group 5, and Gary Raybon, general manager and CEO of Wharton County Electric Cooperative, Group 7, to the statewide association’s board of directors.

The new board selected Alan Lesley, general manager of Comanche Electric Cooperative, as its new chair. Lesley steps in for Blaine Warzecha, whose three-year term ended at the meeting. Bob Loth, CEO of Central Texas Electric Cooperative, was chosen as vice chair, and Raybon is secretary-treasurer.

Warzecha thanked his staff at Victoria Electric Cooperative, TEC staff and leadership, and his family and fellow board members. “The board members that I had the privilege of serving with are committed to our cooperatives and served as excellent examples and representatives for our industry and our association,” he said.

Warzecha emphasized that his work at VEC permeates his life but that he wouldn’t have it any other way.

“From the day of my employment at Victoria Electric, I have been fortunate enough to have been surrounded by people who understood that we are a service organization,” he said. “For many managers and board members here today, this service to people such as ourselves—to rural people, to my people—these are the people who I grew up knowing and helping. These are the people who helped me and my family, so providing excellent service to them is personal to me.”