Texas Co-op Power Scores Four Willies Awards

September 16, 2016

The National Electric Cooperative Statewide Editors Association represents 32 statewide electric co-op publications around the United States, and each year the association honors the best writing, photography and design with Willies awards, named for Willie Wiredhand.

The organization selects winners in 13 categories. The awards process draws entries from across the country, and a panel of publishing professionals from the co-op community judges the entries and makes the final decisions.

“We’re proud of the quality and professionalism that goes into each issue of Texas Co-op Power magazine,” says Martin Bevins, vice president of Communications & Member

Services at Texas Electric Cooperatives, “and we know that the Willies awards are an important validation of that work.”

SEA leaders present the Willies awards at SEA’s annual Issues Conference, during which editors meet with National Rural Electric Cooperative Association leaders to discuss issues of importance in the coming year. The conference unfolds each August at the NRECA headquarters.



Gold Award, Best Illustration: Scott Dawson, Alvin’s Deluge: It Reigns, October 2015

Gold Award, Best Column: Melissa Gaskill, Noisy Intersection, July 2015

Award of Merit, Best Illustration: Scott Dawson, Los Ciboleros in the Panhandle, January 2016

Award of Merit, Best Treatment of a Technical Subject: Dan Oko, Home Design Innovation, February 2016